life is better at the lake

view from the lake house

(the view from the lake house)

There is one place that has always held such a special place in my heart, and that is my family’s lake house in upstate New York.  No matter what is going on in my life, it’s a place I can go to relax, center myself, and check out for a while. 

I have so many fond memories growing up in this house with my grandparents, cousins, aunts, uncles, siblings, and parents.  Summer days full of boat rides, swimming, ice cream, and naps listening to the water.  Nights with bonfires, fireworks, s’mores, and storytelling.  The house is such a part of me, or at least reminds me of the best parts of me.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve spent less and less time at the lake house, and I feel like I’ve lost the sense of carefree fun and relaxation that I felt on my stays there.  But all it takes is a 2.5 hour drive, and as soon as I step out of the car, I’m cured.  There’s nothing a little fresh air and a gorgeous sunset can’t fix.

I need to find a way to get that “lake house effect” in my everyday life.  I’m hoping this blog will be a place to reflect, recharge, and gain perspective on my life and where I’m headed.  Like the lake, my life can be calm and serene, or choppy and rough, and this blog will help me navigate these clear waters and storms and hopefully learn a little bit along the way. 

Leave a Reply

